USS Askari

2003 Reunion

A Message from President Ed Toth

It was great seeing former shipmates at the reunion in Ft. Mitchell, Ky.  Four new members signed aboard – let’s all welcome Max Hoover, Ken Kirkland, Norm Neulieb, and Bob Pettit.  We are always happy to locate former shipmates and add them to our membership roles.  If you know the whereabouts of someone who might like to join the Association, please give us a heads up and we’ll contact the person.  Bob Pettit has already referred a name to us – way to go Bob!

In addition to welcoming four new members, I was pleased that Virgene Toth (my wife) and Barbara Davis (Merrill’s wife) were voted by acclamation to be honorary members for their contributions to the Association.

Many things were discussed at the business meeting.  One involved a change in officers.  With regret, I accepted John Roth’s resignation as treasurer and thanked him for his valuable service to the Association during his 2-year term.  Former vice president Al Wolfe was elected to fill the treasurer’s position, and Lee Daley was elected to fill the vacant vice president position.  Congratulations to both and special congratulations to Lee as our first Viet Nam era officer.

We began our newsletter this year and have been pleased with the positive comments received from Askari members.  We want the newsletter to be a place where members can share Askari experiences.  

We need input from you to keep the stories going.  Please email your Askari experiences or other ideas to Merrill Davis at or mail them to him at 3405 Ashwood Drive, Bloomington, IN 47401.  You can also reach him by phone at 812-331-1641.

The reunion wasn’t all business.  We enjoyed good eats and a night of dancing while fellowshipping with shipmates.  The attendance at this reunion was nearly double the 2001 reunion.  I eagerly look forward to 2005 and the prospect of a similar increase in attendance.

2003 Reunion

U.S.S. Askari Reunion Attendees

Back row:  Paul Erasmus, Max Hoover, Lee Daley, Ed Toth, Bob Pettit.   Front row: John Roth, Roger Metz, Larry Ethridge, Merrill Davis, Norm Neulieb, John Schenck.   Not pictured:  Ken Kirkland